Projection as a medium to explore time on flat surfaces.

Close up of projected sound pattern

Setting up projected image.

Spectrogram example. Here I am clicking my fingers to represent how the spectrogram responds visually to changes in environmental sound frequencies.

I felt that one of the key aspects of emotional memory and connection to place was its ephemeral nature and it's transience. The surface upon which such feelings could be addressed continued to interest me and I wanted to look at the nature of sight and memory within the context of the surface used. I was interested in flatness or rather the familiarity the observer had with viewing artistic or poetic sentiment upon flat surfaces.

The artist Louise Lawler had interested me in her discussions about the collective process of art and how much the culture and institutions of art were inextricably connected to message, delivery and interpretation. I considered that by addressing a traditional surface in, for me, an interesting way I could engage with some traditional Ideas of presentation and message. I felt the power lay in using what the viewer might be familiar with and then turning that into something which contained more variance than a collected purely visual 'flat' message.

I sought to look at place specifically as emotional memory. My sense was this was something that was very definitely there emotionally and yet physically not there, as the time or place had passed. I related this to the surface and thought of how I might convey those two aspects of being there and not being there and I felt that a projected image contained these qualities. It didn't stay on the surface fixed it went when the projector was switched off and the surface it was projected onto returned to its previous state. This was very akin to how memory works and I felt that it was an interesting way to interpret some of he ideas I had discussed in previous posts.

The projected image for me also could be interrupted in the sense that one might stand in front of the beam and all of a sudden what was being viewed was gone. From a visually impaired perspective this made personal sense to me and I felt it was also something the viewer could engage with readily. Memory also works in this way of sometimes being clear and then forgotten, blank only to perhaps reappear again. Much like interrupting a projected beam of light containing an image.

The idea was to project this image over the raised Braille poetry and by doing so I would be addressing and resolving some of the themes I spoke about in previous posts, particularly in relation to representing my personal connection to a place, Curzon street station. I felt others could engage with this and possibly feel able to then view their own sense of place in a more diverse way.

There were many issues here some particularly to do with how sight loss effects my own relationship to places and some to do with engaging with surfaces in interesting ways and interpreting place as not simply a flat memory within visual space but something that has many more layers of meaning.

In this idea I have engaged with, video, audio, projection, photography, poetry, painting using the Braille dots, visual collage and also installation. I have used technology in the form of recording sounds in the place (Curzon Street station) and then converted those sounds into a wave pattern which forms the basis of the visual image.

 

Leave a Reply

