Baseball Pitcher. Cardboard prototype for later sculptural poly board construction.

Amazon delivery box, a perfect item for sculptural prototypes. The cardboard base acts as the pitching mound.

This is my cardboard sculpture prototype moving toward finished ideas and principles for the final poly board construction, prior to refining it and adding in the 1 dimensional lines from the earlier part of the module. I have previously posted some skeches for this ( which are slightly different from the carboard piece here) that were focussing toward ideas around movement and concentrated energy flows.

I was interested whilst working with triangular forms and the tetrahedrons as to how they easily composed other shapes such as squares when joined. I was interested in this as the square is seen as a traditional closed energy system whilst the triangle is seen as dynamic and open.

I wanted to use the poly board sculpture as an opportunity to explore the interaction of straight, curved and the triangular pointed vertices. I was looking at how curves, straight lines and vertices interacted in terms of the power of the lines, their truncation, interruption, flow and ultimately their relationships to the negative space surrounding the open areas left after connected relationships were established.

I had seen much of all of these elements in the action of the baseball pitcher as I mentioned in earlier posts and drawings. I found their action not only very scientific and precise but the movement for me also possesed an architectural beauty which I wanted to explore. In the cardboard prototype I was trying to represent the build up of energy through the baseball itself, this is the large semi circle on the left of the image. The velocity and power fed into the ball through the action of the pitcher's body, so it can be propelled forward at speeds of over 100mph, is over 3 horse power. As a result I magnified the energy transference of this into the ball by making that semi circle (representing the ball) the largest sculptural area. The negative space I left behind by not closing the semi circle adds a sense of movement or a sensation of twist in the pitcher's body. I also felt that the negative space imparted a sense of total movement to all of the elements, which was something I was anxious to achieve.

I thought using an almost circular enclosure, but not closing it completely and placing the third part of it at a different angle to the other large semi circle (the piece in the front of the image) created this interesting space and the eye's natural tendency to wish to follow circular lines created a movement, then a break, which imparted a sense of energetic flow around the entire piece.

The idea could have been exaggerated with much more extended shapes but I wanted to show the contained energy flow that takes place due to the precision of the pitcher's action via negative space. I may extend the relationships in the finished piece but I wouldn't want to obviously exaggerate any lines. I wanted to let the negative space in and around the sculpture act as the representative flux and energy field of force. I was very interested in the physics of pitching and the you tube video link here shows well the biomechanics and power transferred through the body and ultimately into the ball release.

As with any sculptural idea in the module and working with 2D planes, the point wasn't to make a representative piece but rather to explain the reasoning behind the positioning of elements and how and why one did certain things. I found the baseball pitcher a very convenient way to discuss my ideas and make that readily understandable. I wasn't trying to construct a representation of a baseball player but instead I was using the bio mechanics behind his action as a metaphor to explain what I found interesting in how planes and lines interact and the flow of energy in the spaces they make and in the negative spaces left.

Watching the baseball pitcher in slow motion it is clear to see the large number of triangular patterns throughout the action of the throw from start to finish and I felt this would be a useful way to talk about the underlying principles and my interest in energy flow and the force of intersecting lines and planes as well as the power lying in negative space.

 

Posted in 3D

Leave a Reply

