Experimental Wool sculpture.

Testing ways of creating shape and weight using light materials that don't readily confirm to that process.

Although through most of the module I was opposed to ideas of form, I did find I was attracted to artists such as Michel Nedjar that used materials figuratively. His use was somewhat dark, which related to his personal background but for me I was interested in how one might create a depth and density with such a lightweight material, rather than any form of deliberate surrealism.

I thought the idea of an armchair in the woods gave more form to the wool figure, as when I was originally working on the idea purely in the landscape, it was hard to separate its density from the surrounding environment without using extensive support systems which I wasn't technically skilled to implement.

I wanted to create a figurative sculpture and I had previously created two figures for the class project but these were a combination of materials combined together using the learned module techniques rather than attempting to create a figurative form from one material. The idea was to use one lightweight material and to create a density and 3 dimensional weight which could be observed photographically on a 2D plane. This was difficult as I said and why I eventually chose the armchair as a suitable place to develop my idea.

I think there were surrealist subconsciously dark forces at play when I was making it but I cannot honestly say what they were. It was important for me for instance that one leg would be very dense and complete and the other damaged and weightless and I felt including a head made the figure too representational so I avoided that also. The figure does have a power for me and does relate to certain emotional feelings when I look at it but primarily on a conscious level I was about experimenting with how I might create sensations of weight and density in a figurative form with am intrinsically light material such as wool.

 

Leave a Reply

