Ideas for end of Foundation year show flyers.

Sign board scratched & weathered and notice reversed.

Torn paper after glue, on black glass

 

Two joined sign boards, curved red marking graffiti pen.

Robert Ryman untitled 1957, discovered after constructing my pieces. This journey always confounds and surprises me

Using the blog space to record some ideas for self printed flyers. I think these images for me represent a certain self belief that has emerged after 8 months of studying at Foundation level. I feel I have developed an exploratory approach to my work and a better understanding of my visual sense in relation to other artists work. I wasn't sure what the Foundation course would deliver for me but I am very pleased that it is starting to open up the conversation I have visually with other art.

I came from a philosophy background so a lot of my work was driven by an argument that didn't necessarily rely upon an initial aesthetic and in the later part of my course I found it much easier to involve myself outside of the process of analysis derived from engagement with certain writers, philosophers and cultural theorists. I started to explore other artists visual approach in relation to art history and their contemporary response to that.

I think philosophy helped me engage with art in a way that made it easier for me initially to explore ideas. As the course progressed I felt I needed to move to a better balance and start developing other ways of coming to my work, where the visual historical aspects were also present. The transition was difficult and I am still very much at an early stage in establishing a consistency to the visual identity of my work.

In these flyer samples I am trying to take regard of the experimental areas that interest me as well as the simple ordinary materials that are largely ignored. I like the self reflective questions it asks about what might constitute art but at the same time I like the fact it delivers a confident answer from me as a student of art. My progress to degree level will see a shift again and another development but I have to move in that direction with confidence in what interests me. As my experience grows I will better contextualise my interests within a historical art perspective and produce better more coherent work.

I think the Foundation stage should be full of experimentation, mistakes, difficult choices and problems and that these should be felt as something one is discovering about themselves rather than using this early period to produce work that is safe and familiar. It is a tough period of course as one is trying to produce a portfolio of material for University applications as well as to meet the targets of the Foundation course itself.

 

Leave a Reply

