Foundation Distinction. Goldsmiths Fine Art & History of Art

I have come to the end of my Foundation course and received a distinction as my final grade. I received distinctions at each phase of my course and it is really pleasing to finally finish my Foundation year with a distinction which is a solid reward for an intensive year of effort. If anyone is thinking of doing a Foundation course in art and design I would wholeheartedly recommend it before going straight from A levels to University. It is incredibly intense and relentless and I think it prepares anyone for University life, particularly as in my case if you have not been in education for a while.

I have chosen Goldsmiths University in London from my offers to study Fine Art & History of Art at degree level. I chose Goldsmiths because of its global reputation as a leading arts University and I chose to apply for the Fine Art practice and History of Art joint honours degree as there are only roughly 25-30 places available internationally. I felt I wanted this close contact with tutors and a link between the contemporary visual cultures department as well as the Fine Art department. I had some great offers from other exciting London Universities with great reputations but I felt that the writing and theoretical aspects available within the Goldsmiths joint degree was too compelling and offered me many more opportunities at MA level.

I will spend 3 days per week on studio practice supervised by the Fine Art department and 2 days working in the Visual cultures department with theoretical based ideas and their contemporary approach to the context of art history, politics, gender, philosophy, sociology and other areas that I hope will influence my art practice in future years.

I am very pleased to have gained a place on such a unique course and with such a small number of places. It is a huge vote of confidence in me to have a University like Goldsmiths see potential in my visual and written work. It is potential I do not see myself but I am rewarded by the fact their expertise must see something that I myself have yet to discover and this is an exciting prospect. Some of the world's best contemporary artists have attended this University at either BA or MA level so I am in exalted company and one does feel the buzz about the place knowing that some of the people doing Fine Art here will be future leading exponents of art and play a part in its evolving history.

 

Leave a Reply

